At the start of things…

I am in my fifth year of teaching and have had a professional blog to share with students for some time (see link widget on sidebar), but now have been cajoled / elbowed / convinced to keep a personal reflective blog. A place to put down thoughts about teaching or travelling, or any other topic that grabs my attention. I could say I was nagged slightly into keeping this by an enthusiastic boss 😉 , but it will be interesting to look back on in the future and a great way to keep track of what goes on in a profession that changes so rapidly.

The last year at school has seen a whole lot of changes, and lots of exciting projects come and go. I have been fortunate to be a part of things like the Microsoft Innovative Teachers’ forums in the past, been invited to write for the Guardian Teacher blog, been involved with pushing school leaders and educators to embrace using mobile devices, and getting out and about on trips. I am lucky to work in a department that is supportive and challenging; with a boss that sets you up for all sorts of trouble but will help you get out of it, and a more recently qualified teacher who is driven and perfection seeking. Both of whom have the drive, passion and creativity to push the department and myself to constantly improve. @priorygeography is a great place to be, a bubble of innovation and energy which hopes to spread. And we work with amazing kids. Hard work at times, but rewarding and awesome to see them develop and succeed.

 

"A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step" Lao Tzu
“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step” Lao Tzu

The start of the new year inevitably leads to resolutions and target setting. The department has collective aims: to become leaders of innovation & creativity, to inspire our learners, and to continue to improve results, amongst others. Personally, I aim to spend more time learning from other professionals, through using blogs / Google reader / twitter more. I want my lessons to be more creative and inspiring. I want to do better for my GCSE classes and support them more. I want to be an even better team member, coach, mentor & to support staff across the school. And I’d like to make the work-life balance a bit more, well, balanced.

One thing I do know about this profession though: that I will keep adding to and altering these targets / resolutions / wish lists (call them what you will) throughout the year. It’s a roller coaster, and it’s time to strap in and get going.

Finally, one of my favourite quotations is “I am not afraid of the storms, for I am still learning to sail my ship” (Louisa May Alcott). This sums up my approach to teaching & to most things: I would rather try and fail than simply stand by idly. And I think that this is important for our learners; so much more is learned by making mistakes then fixing them or being afraid & conquering rather than simply by just doing. So….bring it!

2 thoughts on “At the start of things…”

  1. Nice post Jo and good to see you getting around to it! Have a great Christmas and happy New Year. See you in January for more fun!

Leave a Reply

